Special Press and Content Creator Preview - Monday, June 3rd 7p Eastern on Lamannia! (2024)

Mindos

CHAOTIC EVIL
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #61

Terranigma said:

They do not have Arcane Archer.

Is this a good thing or an oversight?

Terranigma said:

None of the streamers I watched slowed down enough to show what the Arcane Fey Step bonuses were

LOL.

HighLordPudding

Well-known member
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #62

Mystra said:

I mean seriously guys though.

4 FOUR ?! Elf Races. Like 30% of the primary races on the creation screen are now ELVES.

So many flavors and they decided to go with another variation of Vanilla. I just don't get it.

And another Dex races ?!

We have 1 STR race. The ancient halforc. I mean why do they refuse to give what the players want ?

I feel like there's some kind of conspiracy against the general player base.

Drow, Elf, Wood-elf, Morning lord Sun elf, so Eladrin makes 5 different elves. Not counting Half-elf

Natashaelle

Time Bandit
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #63

Looking at the Myth Drannor wikis and stuff in the past couple of days I thought that the most likely new race from the source material would be either Moon Elf or Eladrin, but not Moon Elves/Grey Elves as they are virtually identical to DDOs Khorvaire Elves. Realistically, such character options as Moon Elves, some Human variants, Mountain Dwarves, and so on would be via some character appearance options during character creation having no other game features, but would that huge amount of art development work be worth it ? Though a Faerûn Drow appearance set would be nice ...

BTW Eladrin are not technically Elves, but Fey. Some D&D Elves are associated with the Fey (Moon Elves are) but not all (Eberron Elves are not).

Natashaelle

Time Bandit
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #64

Mindos said:

Eladrin have no reason to access Elven AA as they are not Elves. They can still be Rangers ...

On a personal note, my main is on her last Elven Baebe racial life, and unless she RTRs this coming weekend which is a slim possibility, her next life is very likely to be Eladrin Baebe rather than Drow Baebe.

Last edited:

M

mikarddo

Well-known member
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #65

Is the iconic a sorc or a wild mage? I shall be very plesantly surprised if its a wild mage and rather annoyed if not.

T

Terranigma

Active member
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #66

The Iconic Eladrin looked to start with 1 level of the Wild Mage archetype.

M

mikarddo

Well-known member
  • Jun 3, 2024
  • #67

Terranigma said:

The Iconic Eladrin looked to start with 1 level of the Wild Mage archetype.

That is very nice as that allows running wild mage and chaosmancer past lives on the same run. A most pleasant surprise.

Now we just need a new ED to go with the new race and things would be perfect!

GrayJedi AntiProPaladin

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 1:10 AM
  • #69

so that's what they meant by "pot"...

LOLz... good thing it wasn't a "chamber pot" tho like in Game of Thrones....

...or the 420 variety....

GrayJedi AntiProPaladin

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 1:54 AM
  • #70

hrmmm.... just thought it's interesting (didn't know too much of the Lore of this place prior)... but Eladrin are also Elves (who haven't lost their Fey nature)

it's an "AI-generated answer" so take with grain of salt, it seems to have gotten it from this "source" https://www.realmshelps.net/faerun/lore/volo/myth_drannor.shtml

"

Demographics of the population in Myth Drannor​

According to the search results, Myth Drannor has a population of approximately 7,450, with a mix of races. The demographics are:

  • 79% Elf
  • 9% Half-Elf
  • 5% Human
  • 3% Halfling
  • 2% Gnome
  • 2% Other

It is also mentioned that the city was once a thriving metropolis with a population of over 40,000, but it has since declined due to various events and circ*mstances.
In the past, Myth Drannor was a city of great prosperity, with a population that included elves, dwarves, humans, gnomes, and halflings living together in harmony. However, the city’s population has fluctuated over time, with periods of growth and decline.
During its heyday, Myth Drannor was a city of great cultural and intellectual significance, attracting scholars, artists, and adventurers from all over Faerûn. The city was known for its beautiful architecture, its vibrant marketplaces, and its many temples and shrines dedicated to various deities.
Today, Myth Drannor is a shadow of its former self, with many of its buildings in ruins and its population greatly reduced. However, the city still maintains a strong sense of community and culture, with many of its inhabitants continuing to live and work together in the city’s remaining districts."

Last edited:

D

Driaza

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 2:49 AM
  • #71

Really glad Eladrin Charomaner will give you the Wild Mage past life instead of base Sorcerer

Please dont change that for official release

Kyrr

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 3:06 AM
  • #72

Driaza said:

Really glad Eladrin Charomaner will give you the Wild Mage past life instead of base Sorcerer

Please dont change that for official release

Considering it starts you off as a Wild Mage instead of the base Sorcerer, I'd expect that to happen.

D

Dreadsnought

Member
  • Tuesday at 4:06 AM
  • #73

So what I heard was a pretty universal disappointment in Voodu's stream that the new race was yet another version of elf. We still await a dwarf or halfling iconic, and some people live to get that kobold race. But I guess a new elf variant is consistent with the upcoming Myth Drannor content. Not a big deal for me, as I have so many other races I have yet to complete.

Kyrr

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 4:33 AM
  • #74

Dreadsnought said:

So what I heard was a pretty universal disappointment in Voodu's stream that the new race was yet another version of elf. We still await a dwarf or halfling iconic, and some people live to get that kobold race. But I guess a new elf variant is consistent with the upcoming Myth Drannor content. Not a big deal for me, as I have so many other races I have yet to complete.

I find it funny that someone datamined it being Eladrin and Steelstar called it baloney in discord, and turned out to be Eladrin.

That being said, this race is going to be another reflex save (for me and my odd dexterity).

Putti

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 5:19 AM
  • #75

Natashaelle said:

BTW Eladrin are not technically Elves, but Fey. Some D&D Elves are associated with the Fey (Moon Elves are) but not all (Eberron Elves are not).

I guess it depends on which edition you go by, but in the current canon Eladrin is a subrace of elf.
Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes lists Eladrin as elves as does Mordenkainen Presents - Monsters of the Multiverse.

If we go back to the 4th edition it lists them as cousins of the elves and mentions that they are sometimes referred to as High Elves or Gray Elves.

It also gets confusing because the Forgotten Realms Campaign Guide mentions that the Eladrin are "Ancient elven lineage" and that many Faerúnian elves started calling themselves Eladrin after the spellplague. So it could refer to both.

Tarrith

Member
  • Tuesday at 5:33 AM
  • #76

ANOTHER Elf race?
Seriously?
Special Press and Content Creator Preview - Monday, June 3rd 7p Eastern on Lamannia! (12)

Dandonk

This is not the title you're looking for
  • Tuesday at 5:35 AM
  • #77

Tarrith said:

ANOTHER Elf race?
Seriously?
Special Press and Content Creator Preview - Monday, June 3rd 7p Eastern on Lamannia! (14)

Elf in German means eleven, right? So still a lot to go Special Press and Content Creator Preview - Monday, June 3rd 7p Eastern on Lamannia! (15)

A

azrael4h

Member
  • Tuesday at 5:47 AM
  • #78

Ratatoskr_Mikew said:

Will there be squirrels?
We direly need more squirrels in the most intense way!
All who agree and wish to ride into battle on a giant majestic squirrel mount please do make an effort to echo this most important of sentiments!

Giant Carnivorous Squirrels!

GrayJedi AntiProPaladin

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 5:55 AM
  • #79

Alf

GrayJedi AntiProPaladin

Well-known member
  • Tuesday at 6:23 AM
  • #80

mannnnn had it been like Kobolds or something or other...

we could prolly Imagine bunch of other people be like:

"duuuuuude, whaaat the actual F mannnnnn, how does Kobolds or something or other fit into the Theme of Myth Drannor - the Ancient Elven City for Thousands of Years....mannnnnn!?!?!!!!11 "

altho interestingly I just learned a whole lotta Dwarves live under it in "Expansive Dwarven Dungeons" (potentially something down the line)
https://forgottenrealms.fandom.com/wiki/Myth_Drannor

oh just noticed on the side bar under this section Eladrin is actually listed First...
"Society[7][8][9][10]

Demonym​

Myth Drannan

Races​

As a city:
Eladrin, elves,
humans, dwarves, halflings, gnomes, gold dragons[6]
As ruins:
Fiends, alhoons, phaerimm, ormyrr,[6] drow,[6] undead[6] "

also just learned about:

"The excessive use of High magic and portals in the city, combined with the actual mythal itself, weakened the "planar fabric" of the region, granting easier access to other planes of existence and crystal spheres. Most notable among these were the Feywild, the lower planes,[28] the demiplane of Dread, along with the planet Krynn.[ "

duuuuuude Krynn!!!!!!!!111

Last edited:

You must log in or register to reply here.

Special Press and Content Creator Preview - Monday, June 3rd 7p Eastern on Lamannia! (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Arielle Torp

Last Updated:

Views: 6598

Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Arielle Torp

Birthday: 1997-09-20

Address: 87313 Erdman Vista, North Dustinborough, WA 37563

Phone: +97216742823598

Job: Central Technology Officer

Hobby: Taekwondo, Macrame, Foreign language learning, Kite flying, Cooking, Skiing, Computer programming

Introduction: My name is Arielle Torp, I am a comfortable, kind, zealous, lovely, jolly, colorful, adventurous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.